housework counting as legitimate exercise

Options

Replies

• jfrankic
    jfrankic Posts: 747 Member
    Options
    If you eat TDEE-%, then you don't have to worry about exercise calories. Much simpler way of life, for me anyway. :wink:

Wondering what this is? Here, read this: http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/975025-in-place-of-a-road-map-short-n-sweet .

Wondering if this type of eating style works? Here, check out my profile before/after pix.
  • bonniecarbtoo
    Options
    Emisole I like what you said. Nobody can assume what you do is part of your "expectations". It wasn't part of mine, so there are plenty of people that just are not "routine" like everyone else thinks you should be.
  • RunningRichelle
    RunningRichelle Posts: 346 Member
    Options
    I have a BodyMedia armband- I wear it 24/7 except for washing up.

On days when I do around 5-8 hours of housework but don't actually do a structured workout, like Sundays when I do my food prep for the week, I will burn about 2500-2700 calories for the whole day.

On days that I term a 'rest day,' which means I don't to any exercise OR any housework, my burn for the day is about 2150-2250 calories.

On days that I term a rest day and I DO end up doing an hour to two hours of housework, my burn ends up around 2300-2400.

So my answer is COUNT IT! When you're working in the house, you are bending, stretching, reaching, walking, pivoting, squatting, etc. It's a much lower burn, but it adds up as evidenced by the burn I get on my Sunday food prep days.

And I believe my armband is 100% accurate, I've been dropping pounds like science since I got it.

Happy cleaning! (And subsequent eating!)
  • judypriv
    judypriv Posts: 206 Member
    Options