First Zumba class - so nervous!

Options
ckasap
ckasap Posts: 60 Member
I have done the Wii Zumba but my first with-other-people class is Wednesday! I'm afraid of flailing and smacking someone in the face, lol.

Replies

• dancer1178
    dancer1178 Posts: 50
    Options
    Don't be nervous! I'm an instructor and I would tell anyone trying it for the first time to just take it easy. Go in, have fun. You're not going to get everything right away but it should be repetitive enough so you get the gist. Def go back to a second and third class before you really decide if you like it. By then you'll have better understanding of what is going on and will start to pick up the steps. Talk to your instructor, she/he should be able to give you advice and motivation. Don't worry about picking up the steps right away, just feel the music and have fun. Make sure you wear supportive footwear. Bring water. Go at your own pace :)

Hope you had a ton of fun!
  • KatieEstle
    Options
    don't worry- i know it is easy to feel like everyone is staring at the clumsy newbie in the back row who doesn't have the moves memorized yet... but they are NOT! They are all worried about their own workout, remembering the moves, watching themselves in the mirrors, or feeling the exact same way you are! ;) Have a blast, and remember, even if you get lost, just don't stop moving and get that burn in!!!!! I LOVE Zumba- such a fun workout and zaps those calories! Enjoy!!! :)
  • Kassidi21
    Kassidi21 Posts: 267 Member
    Options