Breathing while Running

Options
TdaniT
TdaniT Posts: 331 Member
I am really getting frustrated and discouraged due to my breathing during running. I have been running now since February. I have been running strictly outside since May. I know that is not a lot of time and I am still learning. However, by now I would have hoped that my breathing would be better. I know I could run so much further if I could just breath easier.

Yes I have been to the doctor. They think I have 'exercise induced asthma'. I have never had asthma nor have I had any issues breathing thus far in my life. (until running) I have an inhaler now that I use just when I am going to run. Inside on the treadmill I would have to say the inhaler has improved my breathing quite well. Outside I only notice a small change.

I know outside you deal with heat, humidity, pollen, etc. What else can I do? I am enjoying running and how accomplished I feel. However I am extremely discouraged...to the point of giving up running. :(

Any and all advice/suggestions are greatly appreciated!!!

Replies

• TdaniT
    Options
    bump
  • fabiomuralha
    fabiomuralha Posts: 114 Member
    Options
    Hey... first.. DON'T GIVE UP!

I have been running for a couple of years until now and the "breathing" always caught my attention with the question "How is the best method to breath while running?" ... and I found that at the start of my runnings the breath wasn't wrong , was just me than didn't have enough fitness to run in a hard pace.

Time passed and I get better and breathing doesn't bother me anymore, just did one little change and that worked (for me!). While running I look for inspire twice through the nose and expire twice through the mouth, I usually do that while running in a harder pace. At the beginning of the race I just breath through the nose... when the body needs more oxygen I start to use nose and mouth...
  • samgolod
    samgolod Posts: 93 Member
    Options