28yr old Army wounded can't be active

Options
Hi All, I have been doing MFP for a few months and am looking for some advice. I was wounded in Afghanistan while serving with the Army which resulted in limb loss. Due to the nature of my injuries and continued surgeries I am not able to participate in activities with the exception of swimming. However due to upcoming surgery I will be out of the water for about a month. I've put on 50 pounds since being hurt and in a wheelchair and despite following a pretty good diet can't seem to take the weight off. Looking for any suggestions for weight loss without much exercise. Thank you

Replies

• Healthy_TJ
    Healthy_TJ Posts: 11
    Options
    Hi! First off thank you so much for serving our country. I do not understand and probably never will, but I thank you for your commitment to serve our country. Thank you for putting your life on the line always. Thank you so much!

As far as weight loss goes- it really is calories in verse calories out. Are you able to do some punching- that is an EASY way to raise your heart rate without using your lower body or running , etc. Are you eating at a deficit?
  • mverardo82
    Options
    Thank you very much. I lost my left leg and about 1/2 of my left arm so I don't know if I can punch. I should look into that, that's a good idea. I'm eating about 1800 calories a day but think that I am used to a lot more so feel hungry a lot.
  • kavanaghev
    kavanaghev Posts: 75 Member
    Options