Cheap healthy food!!

Options
Hello Im a student with no job and I need ideas on some healthy but reasonably priced meals I can make. If anyone can help that would be great!! I'm new to this so if people could add me and give me some support that would be greatly appreciated! Thank you

Replies

• gillmitch
    gillmitch Posts: 64
    Options
    fruit and veg from a market stall you get more its fresher and cheaper than the supermarkets
  • michellechawner
    Options
    check out farmers markets in the area - also check the grocery store fliers ahead of time to see if lean meats are on sale or when they will be, as well as veggies and fruits and other foods you like. I tend not to buy things unless they are on sale myself... i'm trying to save money to move, so I know how you feel with not having a lot of money to work with.

I also get some of my groceries at Target or Walmart - their prices are better :)
  • portofmorrow
    portofmorrow Posts: 10 Member
    Options
    Avocados - Grab some of these when they go on sale. They're full of healthy fats so they fill you up!
    Raw nuts - Same as above!
    Hummus - Comes in a myriad of flavours. A great spread to replace mayo. Also good for dipping raw veggies into!
  • TheWanderingLemon
    TheWanderingLemon Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    I advocate dried beans--lentils being my favorite. They're easy to prepare, good for you, and cheap! Good luck!
  • swat1948
    swat1948 Posts: 302 Member
    Options