How do you break up with your trainer?

Options
chbruns
chbruns Posts: 16 Member
When I first started my fitness quest I got a personal trainer. I've been working with her for a couple of months and have seen great results. She has really helped me. BUT....now that I'm past the "I just want to lose a few pounds and firm up" phase, I don't know that she is the right trainer for me. I'm starting to want to get a little more hardcore with what I'm doing and really start building muscle and getting stronger - I went from being a couch potato to having this urge to be at the gym lifting all the time.

She works at the gym I go to so it's kind of awkward if I bring someone else in to train me so I feel like if I stop with her I have to not get another trainer.

Anybody else been through this? Any advice?

Replies

• GetSoda
    GetSoda Posts: 1,267 Member
    Options
    Give her an opportunity to help you with your new goals. If she can't, ask her to refer you to someone that can.
  • dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,950 Member
    Options
    Hi <TrainerName>, I've decided to go a different direction, thank you for your service to this point. Bye."

ETA- This isn't a friend, it's a service provider. You stop working with them the same way you change insurance companies and lawn care people. You tell them thank you, and good day. That's it. It's a business relationship.
  • davideickelmann
    davideickelmann Posts: 87 Member
    Options
    When I first started my fitness quest I got a personal trainer. I've been working with her for a couple of months and have seen great results. She has really helped me. BUT....now that I'm past the "I just want to lose a few pounds and firm up" phase, I don't know that she is the right trainer for me. I'm starting to want to get a little more hardcore with what I'm doing and really start building muscle and getting stronger - I went from being a couch potato to having this urge to be at the gym lifting all the time.