newbie here - can anyone tell me straight how to do this!!!

Options
hi, I have two stone to lose and I really need some advice...I always give up diets after about 3 days and think 'oh sod it!' but I want ths time to be different. how do I keep at it? any tips much appreciated! thanks!!

Replies

• spmcavoy1
    spmcavoy1 Posts: 60 Member
    Options
    You really just have to want it. Losing weight isn't about a diet, it's about a concerted effort for a lifestyle change.
  • psykins
    psykins Posts: 76
    Options
    Don't think of it as a diet. It's not a diet - it's a lifestyle change. That might sound daunting, but changing your eating habits, exercise habits, and the way you think about food is the only way that you're going to keep the weight off long-term.

A page that really seems to help a lot of people (including me) figure out what this whole food/exercise/weight relationship is really about can be found here http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/654536-in-place-of-a-road-map-2-0-revised-7-2-12. Set reasonable goals for yourself, don't give up because of one bad day, and don't expect the weight to come off all at once - if you're doing it right, it won't.

I also suggest getting some friends on MFP to encourage you! You can add me if you'd like.
  • Gabrielm80
    Gabrielm80 Posts: 1,458 Member
    Options
    I could go into detail but other have said it already too clearly to ignore.
    Here is a post I wish I saw my first week. This is great guide for things MFP should guide someone through and doesn't. Great read it will change the way you diet and pull you out of the yo to dieting rut

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/931670-bmr-and-tdee-explained-for-those-needing-a-guide
  • Gabrielm80
    Gabrielm80 Posts: 1,458 Member
    Options