Exercising Multiple Times A Day

Options
Hi everyone,

I'm new to MFP so please excuse me if I make any mistakes or have posted to the wrong area!

I'm really worried about my weight and am seriously considering taking some time off work to focus on 'jumpstarting' my fitness. Currently, my work schedule means I get home too late and leave home too early to go to any gyms and too tired to work out at home, also I eat unhealthily by having lunch out all the time and often dinner too.

I am mulling taking a month-long break simply to force myself onto a better diet and get into the habit of exercising. This would be a self-imposed bootcamp, I guess? If so, would doing exercise in morning and afternoon sessions be effective? Any help would be much appreciated.

Replies

• mperrott2205
    mperrott2205 Posts: 737 Member
    Options
    Losing weight = Caloric deficit. Focus on your diet first and weight will instantly start to lose weight. Working out just allows you to eat more during the day to help recovery when building muscle.

http://iifym.com/iifym-calculator/ - do this.
  • Elsie_Brownraisin
    Elsie_Brownraisin Posts: 786 Member
    Options
    Hi,

You may not be able to fit this in with your work schedule, but I find it better to exercise in the morning, It helps me to concentrate at work and I try to avoid exercise after 6 pm as I then find it difficult to sleep. But other people may disagree.

I'm not sure about taking a month off to change your diet and start exercising, because it may be best fit gradual changes into your normal routine. If you are still eating out several times a week as part of your job, it may be easier to slip back into old habits once your strict limits have been lifted.
  • massedeffect
    Options