How many calories does waiting on tables burn per hour?

Options
I've never known the answer! So I'm constantly confused about how much I should eat in a day, I don't know whether it's about 100 an hour or 50 an hour, so I don't know what allowances to make when it comes to food? I normally work 7 hours a day so hopefully someone will know the answer? :(

Replies

• illusivegalaxy
    Options
    Try this calculator

http://www.fitday.com/webfit/burned/calories_burned_Serving_food_setting_table_implied_walking_or_standing.html

I bus tables 3 days a week and I'm curious to how much I burn as well and I found this calculator, not sure how precise it is but it gives you a better idea of how much you burn per hour while working in a restaurant :)

Idk if that link worked because its really long:/ so try this one if it didnt:x

http://tinyurl.com/l89h3f7
  • dbmata
    dbmata Posts: 12,950 Member
    Options
    I'd say zero.
    But I used to be a cook and I hated the wait staff. :D

Besides, if you're doing it right you already factored it into your daily energy expenditure.
  • rachie590
    rachie590 Posts: 107 Member
    Options
    I don't count waiting tables. MFP asks you at the beginning if you are sedentary or if you work an active job. I figure my body is pretty used to it. I doubt my heart rate is too elevated...despite running around with no breaks and carrying/lifting/lower trays that weigh in excess of 50+ lbs. I think that since it's been years since this has made me sore, it's safe to say I don't need to eat the calories back.

Just my personal opinion.
  • Lysander666
    Lysander666 Posts: 275 Member
    Options
    Don't count your job.
  • Saucy_lil_Minx
    Saucy_lil_Minx Posts: 3,302 Member
    Options
    Change your stats to moderate activity to account for your job. Don't list it as exercise. That should be above and beyond normal daily activity.
  • cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,868 Member
    Options