low sodium foods

Options
kenzie0884
kenzie0884 Posts: 66 Member
This is my first post, so sorry if it's in the wrong topic! I have tried Google, but all I find is list after list of processed food. I am trying to cut out as much processed as possible, but I keep going over in sodium. Obviously I still eat processed foods, but my goal would be to make meals (especially dinner) out of non processed ingredients.
Here is some of my go-to foods right now
Salad (does contain processed croutons, and dressing. I plan to cut the processed dressing when I run out)
Eggs
Wraps (whole wheat tortillas and I usually use chicken, or peanut butter as the filling)
Pita with peanut butter and banana inside
Cashews
Carrots with light dip
watermelon
Cucumber slices or salad

I didn't grow up in a household full of healthy food, so I am still learning the taste of everything, which is why I don't have a whole lot on my list yet. I also don't add salt to anything at all, but my dressing and cheese seem to contain the highest amount of sodium. That is why I need more ideas because apparently I am eating more salad than anything (with the high amounts of sodium). Help?

Replies

• runningagainstmyself
    runningagainstmyself Posts: 616 Member
    Options
    Condiments and anything in a package often contain very high amounts of sodium. If you look carefully, though, you can find equivalent dressings and condiments that are considerably less in sodium than others. That includes soy sauce, by the way. :)

Just be sure to read your labels! It will get easier with time, I promise. 2-4 weeks and noticing sodium on the label will be second nature.
  • born2drum
    born2drum Posts: 731 Member
    Options
    I love baking chicken breasts that I season with a sweet and spicy poultry rub which has very low sodium. If you go over your sodium I always do a 12 min sauna session to held my body rid the excess water.
  • onedayatatime12
    onedayatatime12 Posts: 577 Member
    Options