Hot Yoga

Options
2»

Replies

• bumblebums
    bumblebums Posts: 2,181 Member
    Options
    I would also be bored silly practicing the same 26 poses every time, considering the variety that yoga offers.

Sounds like you're trying to give advice on a subject you're not familiar with. If you had even given these 26 postures a try, you would know that there is no way to become bored with them. Even for a seasoned practitioner, there is always work to do in each pose.

OP- definitely give it a try, and listen to your body, don't pull yourself past your your flexibility, it can be easy to do in the hot room, and you don't want to hurt your tendons!

Other than the previous caution, have fun!

I have 13 years of experience practicing yoga and am quite familiar with the poses :)
  • michellemybelll
    michellemybelll Posts: 2,228 Member
    Options
    this is my favorite style of yoga: http://www.baronbaptiste.com/
  • SoDamnHungry
    SoDamnHungry Posts: 6,998 Member
    Options
    Sounds like torture. But with all you peeps endorsing it, I must admit I'm curious...
  • rybo
    rybo Posts: 5,424 Member
    Options
    I go to a heated vinyasa class. LOVE it!
  • avidisson
    avidisson Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    The hot yoga studio I've recently started going to also offers warm yoga classes that are done at 82 degrees instead of 95+ degrees. I really like the warm yoga classes, because there is still enough heat to help my incredibly tight muscles loosen up, but it's not so hot that it's uncomfortable. I would recommend seeing if the studio you are looking at going to has any warm yoga classes, and maybe start with one of those before trying a hot yoga class to see how you tolerate the heat.

I'm an excessive sweater and I really don't like the heat. But I've done warm yoga and I love it. My yoga mat and t-shirt usually get soaking wet :-)
  • martintanz
    martintanz Posts: 280
    Options