Breastfeeding may Prevent Type 2 Diabetes

Options
Saw this on the news this morning and found this article! I thought I would share this with all of you! =)

http://www.newsonwellness.com/1276/wellness/breastfeeding-prevents-type-2-diabetes-says-studies.html

Replies

• jlizgar
    jlizgar Posts: 104
    Options
    There are SO many benefits to breastfeeding, for both mother & baby!
  • Ely82010
    Ely82010 Posts: 1,998 Member
    Options
    Thank you for the information; however, these are retrospective studies that don't take into consideration other fatcors. The correct way to determine the validy of the statement is to have a control group.
    I am a scientist and I was very much involved in clinical studies, until I retired, so I take these news with a grain of salt. I don't disclaim the benefits of breast feeding but there are many woman that can not breast feed their children either for health reason, choice or because the children were adopted; so when I read this kind of articles I fell bad for them and I hope that they don't feel guilty about it.

By the way, I did not breastfeed my children (my choice), I am 66 years old and my fasting glucose level is about 66.
  • jlizgar
    jlizgar Posts: 104
    Options
    Thank you for the information; however, these are retrospective studies that don't take into consideration other fatcors. The correct way to determine the validy of the statement is to have a control group.
    I am a scientist and I was very much involved in clinical studies, until I retired, so I take these news with a grain of salt. I don't disclaim the benefits of breast feeding but there are many woman that can not breast feed their children either for health reason, choice or because the children were adopted; so when I read this kind of articles I fell bad for them and I hope that they don't feel guilty about it.

By the way, I did not breastfeed my children (my choice), I am 66 years old and my fasting glucose level is about 66.