Quinoa: I'm new to this stuff... recipe help???

darce27dk
darce27dk Posts: 17 Member
Hi! I am starting to venture out on healthy eating. I heard quinoa is a high protein low carb good alternative to rice, potatoes all that (which I love love love to eat). I have never cooked with it and don't know what to cook with it. I would like to start since it has such GREAT health benefits (from what I have read). Recipes, tips, advice would help tremendously for a newbie in the Quinoa world! Thanks!!! :)

Replies

• MoRiv1986
    MoRiv1986 Posts: 379 Member
    Bump.
  • This one has olive oil so it might be a little high in calories but I do love this tomato caprese quinoa salad: http://fitfoodiefinds.com/2011/06/fresh-caprese-quinoa-salad/

I love these quinoa kale patties: http://yummysupper.blogspot.com/2012/09/quinoa-kale-patties.html

My quick go-to quinoa meal is also a quinoa black bean bowl. I seriously just put quinoa and canned black beans in a bowl with salsa. I saute up some peppers and onions if I have them and you can put some shredded cheese in if you want too. I always keep black beans in the house so this is what I do when I can't find anything to eat pretty much!
  • dmt9544
    dmt9544 Posts: 11 Member
    Lots of great recipes online by Wendy Polisi, many are available without buying the Recipe eBooks.

http://www.cookingquinoa.net/category/quinoa-recipes

I've made this one a couple of times and really like it.

http://www.cookingquinoa.net/italian-zucchini-quinoa-casserole-2