Strength Training Beginner Help?

I am interested in beginning strength training...but I have no idea where to start. I tried to google for a guide or something, but found nothing. I did a search on here, but again, I didnt find much luck. I was hoping someone could just break it down for me so I dont end up hurting myself.

I have dumbbells and a bench...I do not have a lat machine or anything for my legs. I do run though if that helps at all. I am capable of doing any type of lifting...I have no health hazards or anything like this. Please help!

Replies

• This response ended up being a lot longer than I anticipated so brace yourself. I'm not a trainer by trade, but I've been around the fitness world and made a ton of mistakes. Learn from them.

First step is to define what you want to get out of it. A lot of people do it for the vanity. Six pack, barrel chest guns. Nothing wrong with that, but if that's your goal the programming is different compared to a general purpose fitness program. There's also the strength route, or something that's sport specific. When you reach your goals, you're gonna ask yourself, what do I do with all this fitness.

Next part is to dial down your diet and make sure you get 8 hours of sleep. The sleep part is incredibly tough for me; I aim for at least 4 8hr days a week. If you plan to gain mass, go for more sleep. No matter what program you follow, bodybuilder, starting strength, P90, crossfit, you kill a lot of potential improvement by having a bad diet and not sleeping enough. I cannot emphasize this enough. Don't worry about supplementing til you've been training for a long time. Your body will tell you.