Husband, Dad, Vet, 40+ looking for a nudge here and there

Options
kpeck40
kpeck40 Posts: 9 Member
Well after staring at this site for over a week I have decided to post my Intro. My 15 year old daughter actually introduced me to the site back in December, but I was wrapped up in Spark People. It was not until I got my Jawbone Up activity tracker, that I decided it was time to link the two, and make a switch.

A little about me; I am a USN Submarine Service veteran, that served 10 years before getting out in 2000 for a great civilian opportunity. Not only did I leave the service with fond memories, and great shipmates, I left with a cigarette habit that was hard to kick (about a pack and a half a day). For 10 years, I quit probably about twice a year, and every time I quit, I gained weight, and every time I started up again, I kept the weight. Culminating to a weight gain of 120 pounds, and I was staring 350 pounds down a bag of McDonald's fries. When I turned 39 in May of 2011, I was at my worst, 348-350 pounds, smoking, and eating a rough diet of 4000-5000 calories a day, and an unhealthy soda habit to boot. I was a train wreck folks. My 39th birthday, I was completely beside myself with depression, self loathing, and grief. So I had heard about Spark People in an article, and joined. Got me on my feet, but even still, everything was a compromise, a half effort. Made some changes, including quitting smoking, but more of the changes surrounded pseudo dieting, and not actual lifestyle changes. You wouldn't know it to look at me then, but I rarely ate all day, and then would gorge in to the night.