measuring macros..

Options
Fonarios
Fonarios Posts: 31 Member
hey fitfam! i'm still pretty new to the macros thing and had a question. so 4 oz of baked sweet potato has 23 carbs. am i supposed to weight the 4 oz after its baked or afterwards?

Replies

• AJ_G
    AJ_G Posts: 4,158 Member
    Options
    Unless otherwise stated, the weight you should measure is always raw, before cooking, where the weight can be affect by the addition, or loss of water
  • Fonarios
    Options
    Unless otherwise stated, the weight you should measure is always raw, before cooking, where the weight can be affect by the addition, or loss of water

but 4 oz of raw has different macros??
  • bretironfitlife
    Options
    Always weigh you food AFTER cooking. For example: Water is not calories, carbs, proteins or fats. When weighing your macros, the gram weight is based on caloric value per gram. If you weigh you food before the water that is naturally or frozen in them is cooked out, you are loosing vital macro calculations. Try it. Weigh your sweet potato raw, in grams. Bake it or Microwave it until it is your preference of eating consistency. Now weigh it again. - cheers
  • AJ_G
    Options
    Always weigh you food AFTER cooking. For example: Water is not calories, carbs, proteins or fats. When weighing your macros, the gram weight is based on caloric value per gram. If you weigh you food before the water that is naturally or frozen in them is cooked out, you are loosing vital macro calculations. Try it. Weigh your sweet potato raw, in grams. Bake it or Microwave it until it is your preference of eating consistency. Now weigh it again.