young girls and success at fitness pal

22dream
22dream Posts: 60 Member
I'm new to fitness pal i'm 22 mother of a one year old i've been doing atkins diet since my senior year of high school and my weight has been up and down drastically. Someone told me to try fitness pal and see how my success would be with calories and the support group . Just looking for some motivation success stories and what everyone thinks THANK YOU !! :)

Replies

• ixa73
    ixa73 Posts: 24 Member
    Hi!

I've also tried atkins (and other versions of low carb). My probem is I can't maintain it when the rest of the family eats a normal range of foods. I decided that diets were a waste of time and the only thing that would work was to choose smaller portions, eat a good amount of protein, fresh vegies and fruit, keep carbs to wholemeal and complex,and only have the ocassional snack/junky thing. I also started exercising regularly. In short this is a new lifestyle and not a diet. I have days where I make all the wrong choices and then I make good choices for the next few days. Just plug away at it one day at a time and you'll be amazed at how well MFP works over a few weeks/ months. One thing that I have noticed that affects my hunger is lack of sleep (crave sugar and carbs all day) and if your one year old doesn't sleep through yet you'll know what I'm talking about :)
    In regard to exercise I have also found that HIT (High Intensity Training) short bursts of high intensity followed by short breaks (e.g. 20 sec on 10 sec rest) for only 8-10 minutes improves your fitness a lot. If you're interested there are plenty of sites that explain the basics. I also run and cycle - but I don't have a one year old anymore :). Good luck, it only takes time and discipline you can do it once you've made the decision.
  • Mcgrawhaha
    Mcgrawhaha Posts: 1,596 Member
    never done adkins... I love carbs WAY TOO MUCH!
  • Michielynn222
    Michielynn222 Posts: 81 Member