Smith Machine

Options
iamkass
iamkass Posts: 122 Member
I'm a new lifter. Can someone tell me why the Smith Machine is bad for squats? I thought the whole purpose of it's existence was to teach proper form (and to be safe and stuff)

I'm training with my boyfriend and he makes me use it "because I'm a beginner", I have way better form than him for squats though. He also thinks lifting heavy will make me and bulky :grumble: so I feel like he holds me back, but that's another story.. lol

Replies

• GetSoda
    GetSoda Posts: 1,267 Member
    Options
    Takes your body through unnatural movement
    robs you of the opportunity to use your body to stabilize... your body.
  • Leadfoot_Lewis
    Leadfoot_Lewis Posts: 1,623 Member
    Options
    I'm a new lifter. Can someone tell me why the Smith Machine is bad for squats? I thought the whole purpose of it's existence was to teach proper form (and to be safe and stuff)

http://stronglifts.com/smith-machine-squats-power-rack-free-weights/
  • Arleigh7
    Arleigh7 Posts: 150 Member
    Options
    Best thing would be to get some time with a trainer and work with a standard barbell. Smith Machines force you to move in only one way and it might not be the best way for your body. I'm going to have to have shoulder surgery and it's because of shoulder presses I did on a Smith Machine at a new gym I went to while traveling. Using Barbells and dumbells allows your body to naturally move in a way that prevents injuries (provided you keep good form and don't overload on the weight).

Good luck with your lifting. It's great for both men and woman and will do more to make you look and feel great than any other type of excercise! (IMHO)
  • phjorg1
    phjorg1 Posts: 642 Member
    Options
    If you got a dollar every time someone used good form on a Smith machine you would have 0 dollars...
  • Fullsterkur_woman
    Fullsterkur_woman Posts: 2,712 Member
    Options