Low calorie - filling snacks requests

Options
chasetwins
chasetwins Posts: 702 Member
Hey everyone -

School will be approaching soon and I am trying to keep an eye on my 8 yr old's calorie consumption and activity. Sadly I believe genes are not playing in her favor. She is a twin and her sister is a string bean and she is well..over weight. It seems to be getting worse rather than better. Before anyone jumps on me lol...please know I am not technically putting her on any restrictive diet but rather being very conscious of what she consumes on a daily basis. She is well aware of her father and I in our journey and has even started reading food labels herself asking me questions. Not in a obsessive way..more of a curious "would I eat this and if not why" type of way. My 19 yr old struggled with her weight a little bit but she was a little easier to teach since she had more options. My 8 yr old can NOT have artificial sugar or low fat milk. Artificial sugar is in more things than you could ever imagine!!! Under several different names. For 5 years so far I have had to read labels and look up unfamiliar names to see what it is.
For dinners the girls eat what my husband and I eat (just smaller portions), same will be for after dinner snack. Previously they had what they wanted..this week I started giving them what we are having for snack (so long as she can have it).
She drinks tons of water and her juice is only 40 calories when she has that..so juice (as her Dr would attack) is not the issue.