Too Much Protein

Options
I have protein with every meal (eggs, lean turkey, chicken, etc) but at the end of the day MFP tells me I'm over my limit by about 20-30grm daily.
How do I fill up without at meal time without all the added protein?

Replies

• jrich1
    jrich1 Posts: 2,408 Member
    Options
    Extra protein isnt going to hurt you.
  • AfroGeek
    Options
    You might want to change your goals fit the amount of protein you feel you'd like to consume.
  • kungfulizard
    Options
    try adding fiber rich foods like beans and leafy greens instead of protein based foods like meat. you'll still feel plenty full!
  • Hello - I'm no expert, but an excessive amount of protein can cause problems. Anytime there is too much of anything something gets stressed. In the case of protein the liver has to work harder to process the protein. That said, it doesn't sound like you're getting an "excessive" amount of protein, but that you're going over by a handful of grams. Perhaps you could tweak your intake a little to bring something else into your diet and cut a few of the extra protein grams.

Medline, from the Nat'l Institutes of Health, has a good intro to protein. Here's the link:
    http://newsinhealth.nih.gov/2008/March/docs/01features_01.htm

Good luck.
  • tam8374
    tam8374 Posts: 270 Member
    Options
    try adding fiber rich foods like beans and leafy greens instead of protein based foods like meat. you'll still feel plenty full!

Yes Fiber is another way to fill up. A lot of veggies and things work. Also, food that have a lot of fiber (like Fiber one Bars or Fiber Cereal that advertise that their food doesn't take like cardboard). Just be careful not to pick to much food that is enriched. Enriched food is stipped of it's natural vitamins and has added minerals/vitamins..
  • cinephile
    cinephile Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Eat less meat! Hell don't eat any at all. It works great for me. Try eating beans or tofu. I promise you will feel better.