Runners/Walkers advise about mean dogs on a rural road

Options
I live in the boondocks and run on different roads a lot. Yesterday I decided to do my long run on a road I have never run on. I have biked there and knew of a dog I didn't trust. So I took a vary small can of pepper spray with me. I got to the house and that dog came bolting at me like it wanted to kill me. If I didn't have that pepper spray I don't know what would've happened. I never got it directly in the face but close enough to hold it at bay while I walked by it (never turning my back to the dog). I actually used up the pepper spray and was thinking "ut oh". I made it by but with no spray left I had to go way out of my way. I made it home but it messed up my run. This was at mile 1.5. I'm new at running and was wondering what some more experienced runners do in this situation. Any one else have this kind of stuff happen?

Replies

• Lyadeia
    Lyadeia Posts: 4,603 Member
    Options
    Are there any laws in your town about keeping dogs on leashes or at least contained in your own yard? If so, call animal control and see if they can take care of the issue without hurting the dog. Owners who have to pay fines often do something to fix the problem.
  • ShannonKN
    ShannonKN Posts: 152 Member
    Options
    Wow, I'm glad you're ok! I've been able to walk my way out of most dog confrontations so far, but I was bit on the arm last week by a dog that was on leash and restrained but broke through its owners grasp. Have you called animal control or the cops to report the incident? The dog you are dealing with sounds like a real danger. The authorities should be able to work out who the owners are and make sure that they understand that their dog cannot be let to harass or attack people passing by. Good luck and stay safe!
  • heyydanie
    heyydanie Posts: 103 Member
    Options