Do you count work as exercise?

Options
I am a retail store manager. During my 8 - 12 hour shifts, I am pretty much always on my feet walking/jogging/standing, mostly walking. I am constantly being pulled in 5 different directions at once. I rarely ever sit, unless I am interviewing people. I still say that I will not count it as exercise. I classified myself as an active person when I started my profile. So my stats are based on that. Plus, my body must be used to my daily activity.

The reason I ask mainly is because when I put walking at a moderate 3.0mph pace for even 2 hours, it is a relatively significant amount of calories. It would be nice to use it, but I gained weight working here so clearly I can't rely on it. However, now that I am eating MUCH better, all this walking at work is a nice perk. (still won't log it as exercise.)

What do you all think?

Replies

• WannabeStressFree
    WannabeStressFree Posts: 340 Member
    Options
    I think it shouldn't be logged, unless it's out of your daily routine.
  • tavenne323
    tavenne323 Posts: 332 Member
    Options
    I do a lot of walking for work and some jogging (I work at athletic events and am constantly going back and forth between fields). I don't log any of it. I only log planned "exercise."
  • KisforKriss
    Options
    your profile is selected as active for a reason, but i do 12 hour shifts in a kitchen at a nursing home and rarely ever sit myself, cept for breaks and i put myself in as lightly active.

MFP's stats for walking are ridiculous
  • Ely82010
    Ely82010 Posts: 1,998 Member
    Options
    Keep your profile as active, you will get more calories to eat and only count gym workouts, running, jogging, or what ever you do as exercise. That is my opinion.
  • Ed98043
    Ed98043 Posts: 1,333 Member
    Options
    If you categorized yourself as active, those calories are already factored into your TDEE. Eating them back would be double-dipping.
  • rieann84
    rieann84 Posts: 511 Member