20 pounds in four months possible?

Options
Hey! I am new to weight loss journey. I lost 10 pounds last year then I quit working out and counting calories. I gained about 3 pounds of it back. I am back and am very serious about it this time. I'm eating around 1300 calories a day and working out (mostly on the elliptical) for about an hour a day, so far. My goal is to lose 20 pounds by Christmas? Is this pheasable without completely killing myself?

Replies

• Happymom83
    Happymom83 Posts: 405 Member
    Options
    I lost 32.8 lbs in 3 months:) So I would say yes.
  • amj3303
    amj3303 Posts: 111 Member
    Options
    Very possible!!!!!!!
  • sandy_gee
    sandy_gee Posts: 372 Member
    Options
    I lost 25 in my first 2.5 months, (lots of water weight of course) and am at 33lbs lost now since March 27. I have about 95 in total to lose (60ish now) which is also a big factor in how fast you are able to lose.
  • ami5000psu
    ami5000psu Posts: 391 Member
    Options
    It's possible, but you might want to lower your goal slightly to make it more attainable since it's unlikely that you will lose every week.
  • Boogage
    Boogage Posts: 739 Member
    Options
    If you have quite a lot to lose then its probably possible but if you don't have much to lose then it will be more difficult.

Its something to aim for and to keep you focused but just don't set your expectations too high and be disappointed if you don't reach your goal by Christmas. This should be a lifestyle change and not a race. The longer it takes you to reach your goal weight the more likely you'll have had the time to learn to eat well and so it should be easier to keep the weight off long term.

Also weight often comes off in chunks and you might not lose every week so don't get discouraged.
  • tworthen79
    tworthen79 Posts: 1,173 Member
    Options
    I lost 30 in 4 months so yes it is!
  • PikaKnight
    PikaKnight Posts: 34,971 Member
    Options