Polar heart rate monitor - help?

Options
I'm thinking of getting a heart rate monitor. I've narrowed it down to a polar, but there are so many! I've seen a lot of people on here talk about the FT4, FT40, and FT7, and I saw a FA20.

Currently I'm doing videos at home such as the 30 day shred. Soon I'm going to start the c25k, and am hopefully going to join a gym for some strength training as well. So which would my best option be? I'm new to all of this, and it's confusing lol!

Replies

• maryjaquiss
    maryjaquiss Posts: 307 Member
    Options
    I've got a Polar FT4 and it seems to work pretty well - quite comfortable and easy to use. I've only been using it for a short while though. (And remarkably, I've found that I burn MORE calories than MFP gives me - like double for my weekly horse-riding lesson! - except for 30 Day Shred, which is considerably lower...)
  • medavidcook
    medavidcook Posts: 129 Member
    Options
    I have the ft7 and it seems to be very accurate to what MFP has and also other device like Jawbone and Fitbits.
  • benol1
    benol1 Posts: 867 Member
    Options
    I have an FT7 which I use nearly everyday at the gym. It is excellent and I love it.

My advice to you is to go onto the Polar website. There should be a decision matrix there to help you select the right product for your needs.
    Something to keep in mind is that Polar doesn't sync with MFP. Having said that, it only takes me a couple of seconds to manually enter my calorie burns into MFP.
    kind regards,

Ben
  • todayis4me
    todayis4me Posts: 184 Member
    Options
    I have the FT 7 and love it.....
  • emilytimeidie
    emilytimeidie Posts: 8 Member
    Options