New here and breastfeeding.....

Options
I am new to all of this. With my 4th baby I gained 45 lbs and am down about 20...only 25 to go :) I am new to all this dieting stuff. I started tracking my calories just to see what I was eating and found that even with my habits I was eating only about 12-1400 cal a day.....I need at least 1800 while breastfeeding. I am eating healthy but I don't get this whole exercise and burn 200 cal so you get an extra 200......how is it possible that you lose weight by eating more?? I don't want to risk nutrients to my son, so I upped my goal from 1655 cal to 1800. I am trying to hit that but finding it very hard most days. I am close though. If someone can explaine to me how this all works that would be great. Am I supposed to be eating 2000 cal when it says that or should i shoot for my 1800? Thanks for any help you can give me :)

Replies

• magdalena1976
    magdalena1976 Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    I am also pretty new here (only been on this site for a month) and I am breastfeeding my 3 month old daughter, I started out with 1400 calories per day, and my milk supply dropped and I actually was not loosing weight, so i increased my calories to 1600-1800 and started loosing weight again.... I think it's different for each person I think, I had to figure out how much I have to eat to make milk and still loose weight. I think it is not a clear cut number, you have to figure out for yourself... what your body needs. Good luck with breastfeeding and good luck with loosing baby weight!!!
  • mikkimomof3
    mikkimomof3 Posts: 224 Member
    Options