Protein shakes - why?

Options
Hi all,

I notice that quite a few people on here are drinking protein shakes and was just wondering why?

Replies

• Beebee78
    Options
    I drank them in the first week I started training because my body just wasn't used to the kicking it was getting and I needed the extra protein to help my muscles repair. xxx
  • lilRicki
    lilRicki Posts: 4,555 Member
    Options
    yep that's why i drink it too...after a month of training all of a sudden my body felt like it was falling apart...so i asked my trainer what was going on and he said it's my protein deficiency...i'm tearing my muslces apart and not reparing them...so i just use 1 scoop in water and fruit...blend together...i tried drinking it with soy milk and tofu dessert but it was just to thick...most people have 2 scoops but try one to start...make sure you check the caloric value of the whey powder, some are VERY high in sugar...mine is 70 calories per scoop which is excellent.
  • lilRicki
    lilRicki Posts: 4,555 Member
    Options
    I forgot to add that you must drink it within 45 minutes of completing your workout or else it doesn't repair squat.
  • mjgriff44
    Options
    My wife and I drink them because they are low calorie, healthy and the protein really fills you up.....we usually use them to replace 1 meal a day...usually breakfast or lunch!!
  • theemstress
    theemstress Posts: 37 Member
    Options
    Women often don't get adequate amounts of protein in their diets. Adding a supplement via a shake is one of the easiest ways to up the amount of protein daily.

There are different types of protein. I use whey. Soy scares me because it's basically an estrogen plant. If you have cancer in your family history, you likely want to stay away from soy products (soy beans, soy sauce, soy protein, etc.) Whatever you decide, you should make an informed decision. Guys at the health stores are usually pretty knowledgeable.