To Lift or Not to Lift?

Options
October is the month i need to step my strength training up. So the muscle heads at work said i need to increase my weights. But the fitness trainer said to increase my cardio which ive been doing for 1 month.

Is it true that lifting weights is more effective at losing weight and inches than cardio?? I'm so perplexed!!

Replies

• Amarillo_NDN
    Amarillo_NDN Posts: 1,018 Member
    Options
    cardio as a rule is always better, but if you do weights for toning and not musscle mass, then it can be cardio as well.
  • sniffles
    Options
    I'm no expert but here's what I remember about weight lifting vs. cardio.

Cardio is a weight loss tool.

Weight training.... well, it depends. Of course the more muscle you have the more calories you burn BUT you can't gain muscles properly if you're on a restricted diet AND you probably WON'T lost pounds (but you will lose inches) when you're working on building up those muscles (because muscle weighs more then fat? Or something like that...).

Personally if your goal is weight loss I'd suggest kicking up the cardio and switching up the strength training.

Again, I'm not expert, but from what I've read strength training is NOT the most effective weight loss tool (if you're talking lbs) but it is great for trimming inches.
  • haleighallen
    haleighallen Posts: 209 Member
    Options
    they say you actually need a mixture of both cardio AND weight training. cardio for calorie burn, and weight training to build muscle, because the more muscle you have, the more calories you burn at rest.
  • introvert
    introvert Posts: 28 Member
    Options
    they say you actually need a mixture of both cardio AND weight training. cardio for calorie burn, and weight training to build muscle, because the more muscle you have, the more calories you burn at rest.