Confused. Weight loss, maintenance, help!!!?

Options
Hi, this is my first time posting here although I have been on a weight loss journey for more than two years.
I once weigh 68kg but have now lost the excess weight. I have also managed to keep my weigh down for more than 1.5years. Normally, i weigh around 50-52kg, at 1.6m.

I have been getting comments from friends, families and relatives that 'i am too skinny' and 'Shouldn't lose any more weight' but i haven't lost weight since last year. Such comments make me panic too as i had been teased mercilessly during a family gthering(when i was much heavier) about looking slimmer but they meant it in a sarcastic manner.

Ever since then, every time anyone tells me i looker skinny or slimmer, i start to panic and become more concern with what i eat. I would even try to limit my food intake to less than 1200kcal. I tend to, however, get over such "panic period" after a month or so, and would start to eat normally.

Recently, we had a family gathering again and I was faced with these comments again. Ever since then, i have been a lot more concern about what i eat and how much calories i am eating each day. In addition, Ii recently switch to maintenance on MFP but i am afraid of eating more than 1000-1200kcal a day.

I am also getting my braces done, and thus have trouble eating as i cannot chew my food (the separators/spaces get in the way).

Recently, i weigh about 48kg and I know this is on the lower end of the scale for my normal bmi. I am happy with my current weight but i feel weak and tired most of the time. I am, however, afraid that i would gain weight if i up my daily food intake.

What i am concern is, am i using braces as an excuse cut down on my food intake so that i can "diet without feeling guilty"? Do i risk becoming an anorexic in the long run? Do i have a problem? (Any suggestions on how to overcome the problem if any?)

Replies

• Ninkyou
    Ninkyou Posts: 6,666 Member
    Options