What Does "DIET" Mean to you?

Options
2»

Replies

• sanndandi
    sanndandi Posts: 300 Member
    Options
    A diet to me is food intake, not a negative word. I haven't cut anything out of my life, so when I talk about my diet, I mean it in a sense of what I am eating.

This for me as well
  • Ang108
    Ang108 Posts: 1,711 Member
    Options
    To me the word diet mostly means the food consumed by a group of people within a culture or by the people of a country, as in " a kosher diet" or " the Spanish diet ".
    Since I have been here in MFP, I have started to call it " cuisine ", since so many people use the word diet so interchangeably.
    When I studied nutrition we were told to use the word " regimen " or " diet plan " when it comes to a more personal way of eating. Admittedly that was a couple of decades ago and now might be obsolete.
  • conniemaxwell5
    conniemaxwell5 Posts: 943 Member
    Options
    I don't use the word "diet" as a word to describe depriving myself in any way. My 'diet' is what I eat every day to fuel my body for whatever activities I'm going to participate in. If I'm going to sit at my desk most of the day, I need less fuel than if I'm going to do a 60 minute workout before work and be on my feet all day. My diet consists of meat, vegetables, fruits, dairy, breads and pasta, and desserts. A 'proper diet' has to have limits or you will gain weight, but it doesn't have to mean restriction, deprivation, starvation, etc.
  • bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member
    Options
    Meh, without dieting I would have been obese at an early age. I come from a long family history of obesity and overeating.