My pants are falling off! But do I really have to get rid o

Options
Hi everyone! I have a general question about tailoring! I've gone from a size 16 to around a 10 over the last several months and now all my fall/winter pants are way too big. I've heard pants can be adjusted, but does anyone know if that big of a size change could be cheaply tailored to be useful again? Has anyone done this?? I hate to throw out all my good pants, especially since I can't afford to buy a lot of new ones (I'm a poor student), and I'm still planning to lose a lot more wait. I've bought some cheap used pants to tide me over in the meantime, but some of my old pants were pretty expensive dress pants from when I had a proper job.

I've tried belting, but even with that they look kinda silly because they sag so much in the crotch and bum area.

Thanks for your help!

~Kristy

Replies

• mookiemoo
    mookiemoo Posts: 46 Member
    Options
    Do you have a friend/family member who is good with a sewing machine ?

It is a pretty basic adjustment
  • JenS2009
    JenS2009 Posts: 65 Member
    Options
    I just cleaned out my closet and gave my "fat clothes" away!! That just adds to the motivation (cause if I gain, I will have to buy more clothes!). Get rid of those things, and slowly build up a skinny clothes wardrobe! :)
  • aippolito1
    aippolito1 Posts: 4,894 Member
    Options
    I agree with mookiemoo. Honestly, tailoring pants that much, you'd just have to measure it, slice it down the seams on the sides, sew it and cut the excess inside... as for the crotch and bum, I'm not sure exactly, but if you know someone who knows their way around a sewing machine, I'd suggest that before going to a tailor. One tailor told me it'd be $7/pair just to HEM my jeans... sooo, there's just an idea for you how much to expect for something like that.
  • Nina74
    Nina74 Posts: 470 Member
    Options