Why do so many nurses smoke?

Options

Replies

• NoeHead
    NoeHead Posts: 516 Member
    Options
    It's funny you mention this. I quit smoking until I got into nursing school from the stress and the eating helped me calm down after a patient I got used to seeing in the hallway or in Long term health ward/Oncology unit would pass away.

trying to stay away from a 12 hour shift was difficult too.

I guess its all in how you deal with stress/emotions..for me personally I dealt with eating and smoking because I'd feel too tired to even think about going to the gym after being on my feet all day. And I was just a nursing student then.

By the time I graduated nursing school all of the nursing students were on prescription xanax. Except me...probably 'cuz I ate and smoked. Also blew up like a balloon. :wink:
    LOL After I finished my NCLEX exam I finished a bottle of wine while crying positive that I have failed...the exam was at 7am.. lol

I realized nursing wasn't my thing...I was afraid I'd either be one of the tainted nurse population that would be hateful years down the road or would still have issues being emotionally objective and not cry on the way home because the patient in the terminal ward passed.

HELLO DESK JOCKEY WORLD! haha
  • WhataBroad
    WhataBroad Posts: 1,091 Member
    Options
    In before the lock :tongue:
    All the nurses I know are pretty trashy so... yeah, there's that.
    tumblr_mtbz6s2wUd1s8n4sio1_500.jpg
  • gabbygirl78
    gabbygirl78 Posts: 936 Member
    Options
    Maybe because its legal to go away and have a smoke, they could get in serious trouble for killing some of the patients they have to deal with.

True! We can't even legally sedate them for being a PITA! Uggghhh!!!

I know!! That sucks sometimes lol!
  • scot30316
    scot30316 Posts: 169 Member
    Options
    How is there so much discussion on this? Only reason to smoke for everyone....To look cool ;)
  • mrslcoop
    mrslcoop Posts: 317 Member
    Options