Farmers Walk and Squats

Options
Started working out recently in my basement and decided to add some other exercises other than the usual upper body ones I've been doing for years. I did a few sets of farmers walks and then a few sets of squats just using dumbbells. Holy crap! My legs are killing me now! No wonder farmers are so strong, haha!

Anyone know any other good exercises like these using dumbbells that I could add into my routine?

Replies

• Mokey41
    Mokey41 Posts: 5,769 Member
    Options
    Being a farmer I just have to ask what a farmers walk is?
  • cdahl383
    cdahl383 Posts: 726 Member
    Options
    It's basically just picking up two heavy dumbbells or anything heavy that you can grab and walking. You can lift heavier stuff over a shorter distance or lift moderately for longer distance. It sounds like a ridiculously simple exercise but it actually works out a ton of muscles in your legs, back, chest, shoulders, arms, as well as lots of stabilizer muscles. It also improves your grip.
  • ironmonkeystyle
    ironmonkeystyle Posts: 834 Member
    Options
    lateral squats;
    dumb bell swings;
    sumo squat / dumb bell swing;
    squat + press
  • SuzieZimm
    SuzieZimm Posts: 238 Member
    Options
    I like this one for a double whammy: stepping either forward or sideways up onto a step (the higher the step, the more challenging!), while at the same time doing some arm set, like bicep curls, etc. You can really feel the muscles working if you step up and let yourself down slowly.

I don't know how to add photos, but if you Google image search "bench step up exercises", those are all the basic idea. It's slow and sustained, but man does it get me panting after ten reps on each side!
  • dan95130
    dan95130 Posts: 78 Member
    Options