Serving size for a recipe - please help!!

Hi all,

I am new to MFP and am having a bit of trouble...

I recently added a recipe (Mexican Beans) - it involves two tins of diced tomatoes and two tins of kidney beans (plus garlic, onion, spice). How do I know how many people it serves? Do I go by what the tins say (the tinned tomatoes say 2 servings, the beans 4 servings)? Or do I measure it another way?

I hope this make sense - I am confusing myself with all this!

Thank you!

Replies

• Curiously, I have recommended this site on MFP twice today.

http://www.webmd.com/diet/healthtool-portion-size-plate

It doesn't give visuals for either tinned tomatoes or kidney beans but I searched the google and got portion sizes of 1 c for each - so I am guessing about the size of a baseball (using the visuals for mixed vegetables on this site.

That was news to me. And a bit depressing as I love my vegetables. Hope it helps
  • BowieBaby
    BowieBaby Posts: 25 Member
    Thanks! Yep, a baseball seems right - my dish looks very like the chilli picture in that guide.

So I need to then figure out how many 'baseballs' are in my dish, then that is the number of people it serves?

Thanks so much for your help!
  • katorihanzo
    katorihanzo Posts: 234 Member
    If I were you I'd make the recipe, eat it in regular-sized portions (a medium sized plate/bowl, enough to satisfy you, not over-stuff you) and then see how many portions you get over it. I use the MFP thing all the time and unless I do this I never really know how many portions it is. Unless it's something like soup where you can measure 1 or 2 cup servings and count it that way.
  • BowieBaby
    Yeah, I wondered about doing it this way - thank you!
  • hananah89
    hananah89 Posts: 692 Member