Hello! I'm awesome...

Options
...at least, I am in some people's opinion.

I'm just going to introduce myself by copying what I typed in my profile...I mean, I already waste enough time doing that.

I'm 28 year-old father of two (3-year old girl, 19-mo old boy). I'm a tech geek, gaming nerd and born-again Triathlete. I am rededicating myself to activity and healthy eating, and I hope that my good habits will rub-off on my kids as well.

I'm sarcastic as hell...so please don't take offense.

I used to be in shape...great shape. Swimming, running, cycling, martial arts. I was addicted to activity. Then, college came along...followed by an office job and the endless hours of dedication in order to move up...then marriage...two kids...I let myself go. From 134lbs to 194lbs over the course of 5 years. So slow, I never noticed. That is, until, we went to the beach in May '13 and as I was putting on my swimsuit and saw myself in the mirror. I refused to take my shirt off the entire trip.

My father was in much the same situation back in March and he dedicated himself to improving and completed his first sprint Tri on 9/7, coming in 5th for his age group and 63rd overall. While I've done sprint Tris before, but I've never completed an Olympic Tri, so we promised each other that we would do it together. I'm on a mission to get myself in shape for one by April...and maybe when we go back to the beach in May '14, I won't be afraid to take my shirt off.

This is new for me. I don't usually participate in online communities, but this time I though, "Why the hell not. Anonymous people on the internet are never anything but cordial and helpful." So, I'm taking a leap...stepping out of my comfort zone.

Seriously, this seems like a huge community, so I know there are a lot of helpful people out there and maybe...just maybe...I'll meet some who don't suck. I know you don't suck, so stop by and say "Hi!"

Replies