BMR / daily calories

Options
Sooo I'm not at all new to eating healthy, exercising, etc. I know that I feel happiest when I'm at 130 lbs, and I've never tried such a formal way of losing a few pounds before, but I wanted to start tracking just so that I stay on track with eating healthy.

MFP says that to lose 1 pound a week, I can't eat more than 1360 calories a day unless I exercise. But my BMR is somewhere around 1500 calories a day. Does this mean I don't actually need to lose weight? I feel like I do but maybe I'm just flabby and need to exercise (which is true, but I thought I needed to lose a few pounds too). Although I'm not new to healthy eating, I am new to calorie counting, so if I'm looking at this wrong, please tell me :)

Edit: I'm 5'11" and weigh about 140 lbs.

Replies

• tannas25
    tannas25 Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    MFP automatically factors in your calorie deficit according to your weight loss goals. If you eat according to MFP recommendations you should lose weight. If you exercise and log those calories, you are "supposed" to eat those calories back. Lots of people eat SOME of their exercise calories back, others eat ALL of them back. Either way, you'd be in a calorie deficit. Also, MFP does not differentiate between a person who "needs" to lose weight and another who doesn't. It's all based on your personal goals. You'd have to be the one to determine that. You can set your goals to maintain your weight rather than lose weight if you feel you don't need to lose any.
  • africanstardust
    africanstardust Posts: 48 Member
    Options
    Ok, thank you...What I mean is, if I have to eat below my BMR to lose weight, that seems rather unhealthy and therefore I don't know if I should actually try to lose weight. I just don't know if I'm understanding it correctly.
  • paulperryman
    paulperryman Posts: 839 Member
    Options