Girl been weight training for a while

Options
Hi guys,

I'm new to MFP and have found it to be quite a handy wee app.

I originally signed up to the gym by advice of my doctor because I suffer from depression. I started going straight away just using the cardio machines and the occasional weight lifting. I used to be a gym freak years ago but mainly for fat loss and cardio training. Since being back at the gym I have found the cardio aspect so BORING! So I started solely working out using weights and doing circuit training.

I've been getting such a buzz everytime I can lift that bit heavier and when i notice muscle appearing on my body. So I hired a personal trainer and I have been getting stronger ever since. Nutrition is something I am working on and I'm getting there slowly but surely.

Basically, I just thought I'd post this to see if there are any keen weight lifters out there who would like to become friends on this so I can look at your regimes and hopefully get some tips from it. Feel free to send me a friend request if you would like :)

Heather

Replies

• cdahl383
    cdahl383 Posts: 726 Member
    Options
    Hi, sounds like you have a good routine going!

I've found that lifting heavier around 6-12 reps for exercises and trying to do more compound lifts (provided you have the space/equipment available) works pretty well for me. I've also cleaned up my diet big time compared to years ago. I eat mostly healthy foods now (less processed stuff and more produce, meats, protein, dairy, and drink only water 99% of the time).

Here's my routine as of right now. I just have a bench and dumbbells at home right now but want to get a power rack and barbells soon. All exercises are 3 sets each.

Monday:
    Dumbbell press
    Dumbbell Flyes
    Pushups
    Tricep Extension
    Front Raise
    Lateral Raise
    Shoulder Shrugs

Wednesday
    Dumbbell Row
    Pullover
    Preacher Curl
    Hammer Curl
    Squats
    Farmers Walk

Friday
    same as Monday workout