Weight Loss Yoga Different?

Options
Hey I'm new here & just wondering if anyone else was doing weight loss yoga? I started doing 60 minutes every day with 'Yoga Zone' videos & I feel SO much better already! I'm sleeping better, less stressed & I think it's even helping me feel less fidgety with my ADHD :-)

I do wonder though why it's not listed in the exercise database? I know just 'yoga' and also 'stretching yoga' are there but nothing specifically for weight loss yoga... because of this I'm not sure if it's counting the calories I'm burning accurately. Does anyone know if there is actually a difference? Or is weight loss yoga the same as just 'yoga'? Sorry if that's a dumb question but like I said I'm new at this.

Thanks!

Replies

• girlcalledryan
    girlcalledryan Posts: 241 Member
    Options
    I use the regular yoga exercise in the database when I do power yoga. I feel it is close enough. Maybe not exactly, but the best thing if you want exact burns is to get a heart rate monitor and make your own. Good luck!
  • yogicarl
    yogicarl Posts: 1,260 Member
    Options
    Same as rzarley and I do Anusara and Power style yogas.
  • yogapoli
    Options
    Just like any form of exercise, yoga and a balanced diet can help people lose weight. So far, I haven't seen anybody market a special kind of yoga as "weight loss yoga". Based on experience, I can imagine that people who do power yoga burn somewhat more calories. Personally, I prefer Hatha yoga and the kind of yoga featured on sites such as YogaIsle.com. It's great for people who want to do yoga at home and helps people keep in shape or get into shape.
  • InnLim
    InnLim Posts: 2
    Options
    I think weight loss yoga is probably practising poses that help to burn more calories and tone specific parts of your body such as you buts and abs (those are the areas most of us want toned, right?)

www.fatlossyoga.net
  • goldfinger88
    goldfinger88 Posts: 686 Member
    Options