Why do people gain all their weight back?

Options
Why is it here that many people have gained all their weight back?

This is my first attempt, my goal is getting in slight, I've already worked so hard, why will I want to ruin what i've worked so hard for?

Do some people think dieting is a temporary commitment? It's a lifetime commitment, just keep on doing what you have already done to keep off the weight, you already worked so hard to lose, and you should be fine.

Replies

• Madame_Goldbricker
    Madame_Goldbricker Posts: 1,625 Member
    Options
    Many reasons including; illnesses, injury, change of circumstances, loss of motivation to maintain, trying to stick to a VLCD. Well done on nearly reaching goal though.
  • OsricTheKnight
    OsricTheKnight Posts: 340 Member
    Options
    You can read my intro post for the details for me. But in short, I got cocky and thought I could wing it. That almost worked for a year and then it went really poorly after that. http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/1107326-hacker-s-diet-fan

Osric
  • SLLRunner
    SLLRunner Posts: 12,942 Member
    Options
    Most of the time I've gained weight back it was because of good old fashioned diet mentality. Ate low calories until I lost the weight and then started eating "normally" again and didn't stop until the weight was back.

A little over ten years ago I signed up with a trainer who taught me all about logging food and exercise, weight lifting, cardio, and establishing good eating habits. I lost close to 70 pounds.

About five years ago I began forgetting about those good habits and the lifestyle change I'd made. I gained back close to 30 pounds.

Now, I'm 9.5 pounds until my goal and I'm doing the weight loss journey exactly as it has been suggested here. It's working and I'm now losing .5 pounds a week as I set my goal to do in MFP. When I set my goals to lose 2 pounds a week, I did. Same thing with when I wanted to lose one pound a week.