First 5K Run

Options
I just ran my 5K on the weekend and am feeling very discouraged. I normally workout 3-4 times a week doing cardio such as the stair master, trx classes, and spin classes. I never imagined running a 5K would be so difficult. I was so upset when I found out I ran it in 40 minutes, as I thought I would do alot better. I am thinking about doing the couch to 5 k program, has anyone ever done this before? I just want to know how effective/attainable it is?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Replies

• tirola
    tirola Posts: 74 Member
    Options
    Congratulations on running your first 5k!! Regardless of the time, you did it, so enjoy that accomplishment and don't get discouraged! Running is a whole different animal compared to other cardio. It definitely helps to have a decent cardio base, but starting to run can definitely be a challenge. I'm not an expert by any means (I've only been running regularly since July) but couch to 5k is a great place to start. I ran my first 5k in July and did it in 45:37 minutes (so when I say ran, I mean a really slow jog/walk!). I stuck with it and started running 3-4 times/week. Not very far or fast at first. Gradually built up and am now running an average of 10-12 miles/week...not a huge amount but I also do bootcamp 3 days/week so that impacts my running. I ran 3.1 miles on Saturday in 35:12...10 minutes faster than my very first 5k. I know there are plenty of people who run it way faster than I do, but as long as I'm improving, I'm happy!

Sorry for being long winded, but in summary, stick with it because it will (or should!) eventually get easier! Don't get discouraged if you have to run slower than you think you should be running. As I started running more, my pace improved without me even really trying. Good luck to you!
  • farida1960
    farida1960 Posts: 18 Member
    Options