Body cleansing

Options
I've been using MFP since April and i've lost over 40lbs so far and i continue to lose a little every week. I see a chiropractor on a regular basis for some old back problems and the last time i saw him he suggested that i see a nutritionist who could help me with getting rid of some toxins left in my body from the weight i have lost. Has any one else used any kind of body cleansing supplements to help them "clean their bodies of bad toxins"? I'm not sure if this has any merit or if it's like snake oil.

Replies

• arrseegee
    arrseegee Posts: 575 Member
    Options
    Given that this advice came from your chiropractor I think you can safely ignore it. I have a masters degree in nutrition and while I couldn't fix your back I can assure you that there are no nutritionist-recommended potions to "clear your body of bad toxins". You hopefully have a functioning liver and a digestive system, so your body is nicely set to look after itself!
  • LoraF83
    LoraF83 Posts: 15,694 Member
    Options
    What toxin, specifically, did he suggest that you cleanse from your body?

If he did not supply you with that information, I would suggest that you call him and ask.

Don't worry, I'll wait to hear what he says..........
  • randomtai
    randomtai Posts: 9,003 Member
    Options
    He should probably stay in his field of expertise.
  • daj150
    daj150 Posts: 815 Member
    Options
    I use Axe for body cleansing...the ladies love it.
  • iechick
    iechick Posts: 352 Member
    Options