Calling all nursing students/RNs/EMTs/etc!

Options
Hi guys!

I want to offer support to my fellow friends in healthcare...I'm a nursing student (graduating this May!) and I'd love to meet some more nursing students or other people in the medical field! I think while weight loss/fitness/exercise can be a lot to handle for anyone, it can be ESPECIALLY hard in nursing school due to the long study hours, clinicals, and reading till my face falls off and brain shuts down.

If you are already a nurse, what's your specialty or which floor do you work on? Do you find it hard to stay in shape, or do you make time for it?

And for my fellow students, how are you guys doing? I joke with people that there's the common "Freshman 15" but in nursing school its the "Nursing 20". Anyone else have that experience?

Anyway. Feel free to add me as a friend guys! Love to give out extra support when I can, when I'm not putting in a Foley or emptying chest tube drainage ;)

Love & light!
- Olivia :flowerforyou:

Replies

• sarah_maria_k
    Options
    Hi Olivia!! I'm a Bio major and also an EMT and full time ER Tech....weight gain is a huuuge issue for all of us in high stress jobs...working 18 hour shifts 5 days a week plus school...without a lunch break what are you supposed to eat..? It's hard to eat a salad in the middle of a trauma :wink: I'm starting out way behind with over 100 lbs to lose but Its easy enough to,do just choosing a quest bar over a Hershey's bar in those 45 seconds you actually get a chance to eat :smile:
  • runspaz
    Options
    I'm graduating in May also. Fall semester seems to be the worst for me, I keep gaining and losing the same ten lbs. Last spring I trained for a half marathon (dont ask where I found the time as I work full-time and have three kids as well) and that definitely helped knock some of the pounds back off.

Right now I either eat too much or not enough and I run once every two weeks...Cant wait to be done with school!

Good luck!