Eating at BMR but not losing weight?

Options
Hi everyone,

I have been logging with MFP for a few months now. Initially I had my calorie goal set at 2lbs a week with a 1200 calorie daily goal for the first 2 months but didn't see any weight loss.

About 6 week's ago, I chaneed the goal to lose 1.5lbs a week. MFP gave me a goal of 1340 calories.

I lost 8lbs in 5 weeks eating 1,300 calories but I also upped my water intake a lot so I suspect it was water weight.

Recently, I read about BMR and TDEE and my TDEE came out around 2460 calories to maintain weight and my BMR was around 1566 to lose weight.

I have tried eating around 1500 calories for the last 3 week's but haven't lost any weight.

I eat reasonably healthy. I eat porridge for breakfast and fruit, low fat yoghurts, no fast food or fizzy drinks, nothing fried everything grilled, no chocolate etc but still not seeing any difference in the last few weeks.

I go to the gym 5 Times a week doing cardio for example running, elliptical, exercise bike and do strength training 3 times a week but not lost any weight in the last 3 weeks. Plus the calories that I do eat I always net then at the end of the day.

Has anyone had success losing weight eating at their bmr? If I go 100/200 calories below bmr will that help to lose weight? I've tried 1200 net calories a day and 1500 net calories but neither worked.

I'm 5'1 and 168 (12 stone) and looking to get to 9 stone 7lbs. Any help would be much appreciated its getting me really down and fee like giving up.

And I've been going to the gym for 4 months and only lost 3 inches on my waist.

Thank you for reading. X x x

Replies

• aszwarc
    aszwarc Posts: 200 Member
    Options
    BMR is what your body needs to function if you were in a coma. You need to take in more than that.

If your TDEE is 2460, try 20% below that, which would put you around 1970.
  • samammay
    samammay Posts: 468
    Options