New and looking for pointers on how to be successful

Options
I am new and just joined a few days ago after stumbling on this site. I am a resident of GA since 06 and well probably not the best move made but we will leave that discussion for another time. lol I haven't quite figured out how to navigate through it other than the food diary. In just the few days (3) I have been on MFP seems I am already failing at that. I have managed to go over my daily calories (1200) everyday by anywhere from 50 to 200 calories over. This is not as easy as it seems. I have seen a few profiles of people with before and after pictures and all I can think is is this real? Are people really doing this and looking like that with just eating right. If so what is the secret and where do I get some. lol ;O) I want to have success like that. I get all gunge (sp) ho about this process and how great I will feel if I achieve it and maybe finally get out of this depression I have been in about my weight for years. I am ready for a change I just know I need some help. I get unmotivated very quickly. I have been trying to eat better and count calories just about a week or so now and already I am discouraged by this process. What keeps you motivated? Any friends & advice would be great. Thanks for reading.

Replies

• kingscrown
    kingscrown Posts: 615 Member
    Options
    When I started my journey I decided to turn my whole process on it's head and start for the completely opposite direction. Instead of starting a diet and some day exercising. I decided to give exercise a good honest try. I didn't worry about what I ate at all. Baby steps. I needed to learn how to exercise. No mamby pamby walking around the block. Real exercise. I research and got help. After 2 months of gradually increasing exercise I started to want to eat more healthy naturally. Dieting never made me want to exercise. I agree. Keep it simple. Just exercise.
  • Kila_14
    Kila_14 Posts: 5 Member
    Options