Starting to run- Should I spring for shoes?

Options
As a college student, I'm on a very limited budget. The idea of spending anywhere from $80 to $150 for fitted shoes is something that I could manage, but I'd be skimping by in every other area. Are running shoes a necessity? Right now I have some worn out old tennis shoes, so I'm probably due for a new pair anyway, and they somewhat make my feet hurt even while walking. But I have a hard time justifying that kind of price tag.

Replies

• astange83
    Options
    I'd definitely get a pair of shoes that fit well that are dedicated to your running (remember to break in gradually.) I wouldn't necessarily spend a ton just getting into it. If you have a Rack Room Shoes or one of the big name outlet stores near you they are great places to find the pricier shoes for less. But I have found good enough shoes at Walmart or Payless before too. The main thing is you need a shoe that gives your toes space and support your feet.
  • glreim21
    glreim21 Posts: 206 Member
    Options
    If you are running then a properly fitted running shoe is an absolute necessity! You can do a lot of harm to your body if you are wearing an ill fitting shoe. With running, a shoe is the only 'equipment' you need so really it is a very cost effect sport to get involved in. Shop now, usually you can get a good deal on last years styles, as the 2014 models are now out.
  • Cindy22706
    Cindy22706 Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Yes!!! It is SO important to have good fitting shoes, you could cause so many more problems by having bad shoes. If you wait, I know tons of places will have black Friday sales and what not. I also happen to love roadrunnersports.com, and always go for last seasons models, they are cheaper!
  • omma_to_3
    omma_to_3 Posts: 3,265 Member
    Options
    Yes. Getting fitted properly. Tell them budget is an issue and see if they can fit you in clearance models.
  • Mokey41
    Mokey41 Posts: 5,769 Member
    Options