Full body vs targeted

Options
Hi everyone! I have been doing a full body workout 3x a week for about 3 months now. Is it better to keep doing full body or switch to target areas each day? I have read mixed things and not sure what to do.

Thanks!

Replies

• indigoigloo
    Options
    No reason to change your routine unless results have plateaued. Splits are nice if you go to the gym every day or don't have much time at the gym, full body workouts are great if you go only a few times a week and have a bit more time.
  • DrMAvDPhD
    DrMAvDPhD Posts: 2,097 Member
    Options
    Someone who is relatively new to lifting (as in, less than 1-2 years) will probably get the most benefits from full body. Reasons to switch to split would if results are plateauing or you need more recovery time after training (ex. your legs still hurt so bad 2 days later that you can't give full body your all again).
  • AJ_G
    AJ_G Posts: 4,158 Member
    Options
    I'd definitely recommend switching to a 3 or 4 day body part split. You can hit each muscle group much harder than a full body workout every day. The other advantage is each muscle group gets more rest in between workouts since you only hit it once a week.
  • mmapags
    mmapags Posts: 8,934 Member
    Options
    Unless you have a goal to body builder, you will get great results from full body compound lifting. It is also far more time efficient. If you love spending time in the gym and want to achieve body builder type results, do a split routine with lots of iso work. Personally, 3 to 4 hours per week to look and feel great is working for me. I don't wish to spend that much time at the gym and have many other pursuits that fill my life. Fitness is just a means to an end. YMMV.
  • Cherimoose
    Cherimoose Posts: 5,209 Member
    Options