Weekend Splurging is Ruining My Efforts

Options
OK, the fact is, I do great during the week. I have my meals set up, I go to work, I do bootcamp at lunch, I go home and feel great, ergo eat a healthy dinner, and off to bed I go. NOW, I have a problem when the weekend comes. On Friday, I want a glass of wine. One glass turns into 2 or 3, and the next thing you know, I have what I call "drunk munchies." I'm digging through my fridge looking for snacks (thankfully, my kitchen has mostly healthy stuff). BUT most weekends I give in to my sweet tooth, schlep myself to Vons and buy a treat, sometimes two treats. My calorie count usually gets blown and I get irritated. Yet for some reason, I have a hard time controlling my urges.

The heart of the matter:
I'm a stress eater/drinker. My job is stressful (quite frankly I hate my job and am looking for other options), I'm new to this town, it's lonely, I don't like getting out because A) I hate driving in traffic (Los Angeles traffic is HORRIBLE, even on weekends), and B) Re: new town/lonely, so I stay home and give into my cravings because, let's be honest, it makes me feel a little better temporarily. I acknowledge it, I take ownership of my actions, I just don't have a strategy to ween myself off of this behavior. 38 years of habits is tough to break, BUT I'm ready to make changes- I just don't know how.
I need some sort of strategy. Any suggestions? Therapy?

Replies

• bvincentelp
    bvincentelp Posts: 36 Member
    Options
    Alcohol seems to be the catalyst, the obvious answer seems to be stop drinking. I've replaced sitting on my butt and drinking with exercise and weight lifting, amazing the difference it made in my progress. What do you want more - to be fit and healthy or to get drunk regularly? Your choice.
  • sheilagchavda
    sheilagchavda Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    Log onto to meetup.com and find a community to join for a social outlet...there are really quality groups on meetup.com
  • kmyers4545