Exercise

Options
I've been using the MFP for two months. I am doing a good job on changing my eating habits. The problem is that I'm having a hard time getting motivated to get out and exercise. Any ideas on getting motivated, or what to start with.

Replies

• fleetzz
    fleetzz Posts: 962 Member
    Options
    You have to find something that you like. If you haven't done anything in a while, start with walking. Easy, cheap, and just about anybody can do it.
  • Sunitagt
    Sunitagt Posts: 486 Member
    Options
    I walk and do strength training at the gym. I be sure to hit at least 12,000 steps per day as much as possible, and try to go to the gym for a 30 minute strength training 3-4 times a week, and it's worked great for me so far. I stay within my calorie targets most of the time.
  • sdhunter8
    sdhunter8 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    Thank you both, I did just buy a decent pedometer that counts steps, distance and calories, It says that you should try for 10,000 steps. Seems like a lot.
  • zoeysasha37
    zoeysasha37 Posts: 7,089 Member
    Options
    Try a bunch of different things until you find something you really enjoy. I've basically tried everything and now know what I hate, and what I like! You can even try things at home like kettlebell workouts! Fun and doesn't require lots of equipment :-)
  • monica_reinert
    monica_reinert Posts: 99 Member
    Options
    I really enjoy doing the Leslie Sansone walking exercise. It's easy fun and fast. She has anywhere from a 1 to 5 mile walk.
  • MileHighFitness
    MileHighFitness Posts: 2,298 Member
    Options
    Once you start a solid walking routine you may start to get soreness in your knees or ankles. If so dont be discouraged, consider picking up some good crosstrainer shoes that you only use for your walks. I also take ibuprophen daily to aid in minor joint pain.

Good luck!
  • bhattarai_mahesh
    bhattarai_mahesh Posts: 11 Member
    Options