Just joined...menopause weight gain

Options
Hello everyone...I just started this on Monday...I've been putting this off for a couple of years...but I really feel committed now. It's really hard for me to "diet"...I was very lucky, all my life...could always eat whatever I wanted...always stayed slim and healthy. Then menopause hit...and I have gained 60 pounds in about 3 years. I'm not small framed...but my body just cannot handle this additional weight...and I feel yucky all the time. I really despise menopause. I'm seriously thinking about going on the HRT's...does anyone know if going on the HRT's will help control the weight gain?

Anyhow...today is my 3rd day...and I've stayed under my calorie goal (1200/day)...and done better than expected with my exercise. I feel really motivated...and I'm hoping I can stay that way. I've tried the "diet" thing for a couple of years now...but it never lasts...I'm just so spoiled with always being able to eat whatever I want. I remember, people would see me eat...and say to me "someday that will catch up with you"...I'd just shrugged it off...but "someday" is here...and I need to take it seriously.

I welcome any helpful hints of how to make this happen, yet not feel deprived. So far...I'm doing okay...I'm staying under the calorie goal of 1200/day...but going over in my sugar and sometimes sodium (I have no health issues with either, so I'm not beating myself up over it). I'm a SUPER picky eater...don't like any veggies...and am a junk food junkie, and carb and starch lover. I think this would be so much easier if there were more foods that I liked. With that in mind...any suggestions for good foods that I might enjoy.

Thanks...and I look forward to getting this 60lbs off my body!

Heather

Replies

• lfrazza
    lfrazza Posts: 14 Member
    Options