Girls who lift help! Weight loss? Bulk/cut? How do I start?

Options
Hi there!!!

I love, love, love the looks of all you girls around here who lift heavy. And I want something like that for me...
I just don't know where to start.
Because I had to make some decisions, prior asking for help, I choose the Bret Contreras Strong Curves program. As a way to begin strength training, focusing on lower body.

My overall goal is to get rid of fat, build muscles and make them appear. Especially butt and legs.

That's were it gets tricky for me. Where do I start?
- Do I strength train (heavy or not?) while eating at a deficit to get rid of as much fat as I can then bulk and cut (assuming I finally understand how it exactly works...)
- Do I figure out now how to bulk and cut and start right away?
- Do I eat at maintenance in the hope to preserve some kind of muscles while getting rid of fat?

I know I can't build muscles in a deficit even though I'm completely new to strength training.

Here are the stats, if needed to help me:
32 years old
female
5.3ft
CW: 155lbs (soooooo pear shaped!)
GW: 125-130lbs (with an hourglass figure if I can dream!)
44%bodyfat. Wich sucks!!!
I've lost about 30lbs so far. Now, I'm not only still fat but also flabby. Wich sucks even more.

Any advice? Please!! I wanna be hot like all of you girls here! Guys, any insight is more than welcome!!

Replies

• lougru
    lougru Posts: 55
    Options
    I'm looking for advice on this too. I want me an *kitten*! Haha. X
  • 3laine75
    3laine75 Posts: 3,070 Member
    Options
    Do whichever will work best for you.

Personally I followed your first option. Started strength training at deficit till my strength gains stalled, then upped calories.