Weight lifting and hypertension

Options
I have a history of hypertension and it appears to be getting high again. I've been lifting heavy regularly for over 2 years. I currently do a modified version of Stronglifts doing 3 sets of 5 and include the big 5 lifts. I randomly googled and found this:

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/weightlifting/AN00637
If you have high blood pressure, here are some tips for getting started on a weightlifting program:

Learn and use proper form when lifting to reduce the risk of injury.
Don't hold your breath. Holding your breath during exertion can cause dangerous spikes in blood pressure. Instead, breathe easily and continuously during each lift.
Lift lighter weights more times. Heavier weights require more strain, which can cause a greater increase in blood pressure. You can challenge your muscles with lighter weights by increasing the number of repetitions you lift.
Alternate between upper and lower body exercises to let your muscles rest during exercise.

Thoughts? Should I go up to a 3x8 or a 3x10?

Replies

• BusyRaeNOTBusty
    BusyRaeNOTBusty Posts: 7,166 Member
    Options
  • meshashesha2012
    meshashesha2012 Posts: 8,326 Member
    Options
    are you not regulating your hypertension with medication?

i have HBP, regulate it with meds and do strong lifts. my doctor says it's fine as long as the meds keep me at normal blood pressure
  • BusyRaeNOTBusty
    Options
    No, not currently. I'm going to go in soon. It randomly went down during my last pregnancy and has only been borderline since then and I've been resisting medication, but it was pretty high again yesterday. I don't have a regular doctor currently and need to get records transferred.
  • MoreBean13
    MoreBean13 Posts: 8,701 Member
    Options
    Was it high yesterday relatively soon after lifting?

If I were you, I would get a home cuff and start monitoring it a couple times a day and watch for trends relating to your workouts (or stress)
  • alexandriax03